My journey to a plant-based diet

By Sarah O’Brien

Four years (and several blog title changes later!), has seen the theme of this blog grow and shift dramatically. I’ve featured everything from poetry to news articles and my latest endeavour – Sam’s story *shameless plug*. I’m on a journey of sorts, of personal discovery, one where I try and figure out how to survive being 23. I’m continuously trying to figure out how to balance my professional goals with my interests and passions. Anything to keep my fingers typing and my brain sharp is the goal really. In short, to keep on writing.

Almost two years ago, I embarked on a major lifestyle overhaul. I felt ill, physically and emotionally drained. The reason? I was simply neglecting to nurture my soul. I wasn’t doing the things that I felt passionate about any more. One of my greatest joys in life was always reading. YA fantasy was always my hands-down favourite (Any Christopher Pike fans in the house?) Did you ever notice how 99% of male protagonists seem to be called Adam? What was that about!

I digress, my wakeup call happened the day I decided I didn’t want to be beholden to cigarettes any more, and so kicked a 5 year habit. It’s funny, up until that point I had always worried I lacked the resolve or discipline required to implement such a change. Quitting smoking became a symbol of personal strength, proof that I could and did have the gumption to get my life back on track.

There was no stopping me. For the first time in a long time I felt smart, capable and strong. Going through some other turmoil in my life around that time made me conscious of another weight hanging around my neck-my actual weight. I’m almost embarrassed to admit how heavy I was at the time. It’s funny looking back I couldn’t (or wouldn’t) see how bad I’d let my weight issue become. Weighing at just over 13.5 stone I decided that enough was enough and took my health and happiness back into my own hands.

Months flew by and as the numbers on the scale dropped, the more I began to feel like me again. I could walk and run freely without getting out of breath. I even managed to brave that dreaded swimming pool for the first time in 12 years! The day I remembered looking at the scales and seeing my weight hit the 10 stone mark I could have cried with joy. It’s strange how seemingly insurmountable tasks can actually be so simply achieved with a bit of determination and perseverance.

Time passed and I began reading about veganism and watching vegan activists (the usual suspects banana girl and Durian himself). They irritated me initially, I could barely tolerate the bullying, sometimes misanthropic behaviour, but still they planted a seed. Though I disagree vehemently with what I see to be bullyboy tactics, I like to challenge myself to immerse in other’s world view points so as to grow and learn. There’s little worse for a person than stagnation after all.

After several months of deliberation and research, I decided that I was going to give it a shot. I’ve been following a plant-based diet for a few months now and it’s been one of the most liberating decisions I’ve ever made. For me this is about embracing a life full of joy and happiness and letting negativity in all its guises sink back into the recesses of life where it belongs. I want to be happy and healthy above all else and so this is where my journey begins.

Over the next while I’ll be discussing in more detail my plant-based diet journey, what it means to me, ways to ease into the transition, helpful documentaries to watch, meal plans etc..In summation, I’m excited about clean-living and I want you to be too!

Until next time,

Wishing you health & happiness,

Sarah

 

2 thoughts on “My journey to a plant-based diet

  1. Would love to hear more about this, Sarah. I’m really interested in veganism, but it always seems like such a tricky lifestyle to get right

    Like

Leave a Reply

