Estee Lauder Double Wear: the struggle was real (but very worth it!)

By Sarah O’Brien

A couple of years ago (it’s been so long I can’t honestly remember!) I took my darling boyfriend into our local department store (Debenhames) and told him I absolutely “needed” a new full coverage foundation and that I had read countless reviews that had proclaimed Estee Lauder’s Double Wear to be the fullest of the full coverage foundations…

Alas, it was not to be, not then at least. So after being colour matched in Brown Thomas and receiving a sample to try out at home (which I never did, my logic never fails to amaze me!) I hot footed it over to Debenhames to have the afore mentioned conversation with my sweet man. Determinedly I walked into the department store, confident that on my return home, I’d have a foundation of Amazonian qualities, which in turn would make my
skin look fabulous.

Estee Lauder Double Wear retails at €37 Debenhames

You get the picture, so as I handed over my rewards card (gotta collect those points!) and my sweet man handed over the moola. I walked out confident and happy, sure that this was the foundation for me. The next day I was out picking up a few groceries when I caught sight of my reflection in the mirror of the milk fridge- I nearly died! Who was that grey, pasty, flaky faced woman staring back at me? I stared horrified. As bad as I’d thought my skin had been all these years (It wasn’t really, but teenagers sure you know yourself), I’d never seen it looking so dire. “Sweet man” I called frantically looking around the shiopa for him, “look at what you’ve done to me!”, I squawked- at once terrified and fascinated. How could such an expensive foundation look so atrocious?

I tried a few times after that to wear said horrendous foundation, but it just made my pores look like craters, my skin look flaky and all round disgusting, and more generally I looked a bit dead (and it was not in an Amy Lee from Evanescence attractive kinda way!) So I continued on wearing my Mac Studio Fix Fluid when I could afford to but it, and when I couldn’t, Rimmel’s 25 hour foundation (the one with the red top) gave a similar finish though I can admit it now, its lightest shade was definitely too dark. (For anyone interested the lightest shade is the equivalent of Mac NW20).

I was shopping in Brown Thomas some time after that and when I say shopping, I of course mean perusing, looking at all the expensive things I couldn’t afford, when an Estee Lauder sales assistant came over and asked my friend and I  would we like to try out foundations over at the counter. Sure we toddled over and came away with a 10 day sample a piece and went home to try it on ourselves and didn’t I adore it. Where was the flaky, dead looking mess of yester-year I wondered, shaking my head in amazement.

I was matched to the shade Fresco in the store, which was certainly not the right colour by a mile, but the finish and the lasting power blew me away. Sure enough since that faithful day, I knew DW and I were meant to be, and far many months after I’d get sample after sample trying to find my correct shade. I finally settled on 1N1 Ivory Nude, which has a neutral undertone. It seems to match my neck and body much better though and most importantly it makes me look healthy.

I was delighted (and relieved) to have found a shade that came close to matching my milk bottle complexion. And to be honest if you’d said it could get any better, I would have laughed and laughed and laughed.. you get the picture. Until one day I read a post as can be seen here, about the joy of marrying a wet sponge like the Beauty Blender or the Real Techniques Orange alternative and all I can say is try it, because cake face be gone, that sponge will change your life!

Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge retails for €7.99 at Boots

Leave a Reply

