Pigmentation station: Bourjois Paris Bronzing Primer’s a good ‘un!

By Sarah O’Brien

The scent of tangy orange chocolate filled my senses as I opened my latest Boots purchase. Bourjois Paris Bronzing Primer stared promisingly back at me, tantalising my taste buds with its almost edible scent. I’m not going to lie, cream products kinda scare me. I have an unreasonable aversion to strongly pigmented cream blusher and bronzing products as I have a tendency to be a bit too heavy handed with them, that and I’m just more comfortable with powder products, their placement on the face and their reassuring blend-ability.

But like anything else, it can very much depend on the quality of the product you’re using. As we transition (painfully may I add) to Spring/Summer 2016, I am making it my mission to find the right base products to freshen up my look. Though cream products usually lack the lasting power of powder products, they usually look more skin-like and that’s what Spring/Summer face paint is all about, a fresh, luminous and healthy looking base.

Bourjois is a French cosmetic drug store brand, a little more expensive than say Rimmel or Maybelline and most interestingly of all, it actually owns the premier brand Chanel or rather brand owners, the Wertheimer brothers do. Yes that’s right Bourjois owns Chanel, not the other way around, contrary to popular belief. As a parent company of such a high end brand, people have naturally been curious about the similarities between Bourjois and Chanel, drawing comparisons between products as often happens with L’Oréal and Lancôme mascaras (L’Oréal being the parent company here). The obvious comparison for the Bourjois Paris Bronzing Primer in the Chanel line is the Chanel Soleil Tan de Chanel Bronzing Makeup Base.

The pretty double C’s gracing the lid of the Tan de Chanel bronzing makeup are the most noticeable difference between products apart from the price of course, which comes in at a cool €38.50 versus €12.99 for the Bourjois offering. They can both be worn as an all over base under foundation or by itself to bronze up the complexion giving a healthy golden tan to the face. Bourjois’s smooth cream formula is blendable, pigmented and smells absolutely divine! It has a delicious chocolatey scent which makes me think that it may be packed full of antioxidants ala Too Faced Chocolate Bar eye shadow palette.

Now I, being of the super fair variety (who in the summer would blind you with the glare off my milk bottle skin!) or an NW13 in Mac terms, have to be curamach when applying bronzer as it can easily look a wee bit cray-cray. Having said that, with a light hand and a good stippling brush (Think Real Techniques Stippling Brush) the Bourjois Bronzing Primer makes for a beautiful natural bronzer which leans more golden than red in base. This is excellent for anyone who has more of a cool pink to red undertone in their skin because a bronzer with too red an undertone can serve to accentuate and exaggerate an already ruddy complexion. Similarly it would look beautiful on warmer complexions, enhancing the skins natural undertones.

The Bourjois Bronzing Primer is an excellent product which should take forever and a day to run through because you literally need one dab of product. My preferred method of application is to dab my Real Techniques stippling brush into the cream bronzer, then dabbing the brush onto the back of my hand to blot of the excess before going in, stippling the product onto my cheekbones, around the temples and forehead, under the jawline and along the sides of my nose. This cream product is to my mind at least far too warm to contour with but it warms up the complexion beautifully giving that natural, beach goddessy look.

This is just one way to use this product, it can also be used as an all over bronze glow should you wish to get your fake tan on. I’m a complete novice with the aul fake bake, but I will certainly be giving this a go this summer when the weather perks up a bit and I can stop wearing my bunny onesie around the house! Over all I really like this product, from its addictive scent, its gorgeous velvety texture and golden effect. As with all cream products, I would advise you to set it with a powder, either translucent or an actual bronzing powder. I found the Bourjois Bronzing Primer to wear quite well with only slight fading towards the end of the day.

So try it out and let me know what you think, devour the delicious Terry’s chocolate orange type scent and hopefully it will serve us well this Summer!

Leave a Reply

