Quick and easy summer beauty fixes

By Sarah O’Brien

Summer has arrived and with it comes the season of quick, fun make-up. With the usual three for two offers in Boots and some free mascara, sure how could you not indulge? But I digress, here are some quick beauty fixes that will last all day and night on that holiday you’ve booked to Santorin (I’m not jealous I swear!)

Maybelline Baby Skin €11.49 Instant Pore eraser

This primer is cheap as chips and has been compared hand over fist to the Benefit Porefessional, I can’t vouch for that as I’ve always been a bit too cheap to shell out 30 beans for a primer but it certainly has the same silky soft silicone feeling swatched on the back of your hand. You can apply this directly onto a freshly prepped face (i.e.. cleansed and moisturised) before your foundation.

This is supposed to make your foundation last longer throughout the day and have the added benefit of ‘erasing’ pores.Simply pat into your skin so you’re literally filling the pores with the silicone primer. Does it work?

Well it certainly helps the foundation go on a lot smoother, it feels divine and it’s lightweight. The Maybelline Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser is a nice product it’s small and easy to pop into your handbag but don’t be fooled by it’s size. You only need to use a very tiny amount of product so it should last for ages.

Maybelline Colour Tattoos in Metallic Pomegranate & On and On Bronze €7.49

I’ve heard soooo much about them and their dupeness (if that’s a word) for the MAC Paint Pots. I decided to bite the bullet and pick up two colours in On and On Bronze and Metallic Pomegranate.

These cream eyeshadows claim to last 24hr and obviously I can’t attest to them lasting quite that (come on you’d have yourself some scaldy eyes at that rate!) but I can say they last at least 8 hours before fading slightly. 

My favorite of the two is definitely On and On Bronze.It’s creamy,pigmented-oh so pigmented and is great to wear alone blended up into the crease or as a base for a bronzed goddess look.

Metallic Pomegranate is gorgeous too but it’s not quite true to the jar colour. It is pigmented and creamy but it takes layering to really get that bamm! Effect.

To be honest I’ve been really interested in trying out some reddish eye shadows for ages so for my first foray it wasn’t a bad purchase. I’ll definitely be picking up some more of these and for a 3 for 2 it would be a travesty not too! (Justification central, thanks Boots!)

Rimmel Lash Accelerator Mascara €10.99

Youtube guru Jaclyn Hill was raving about this mascara recently, citing it as her favourite from the drugstore so when I saw that Boots were doing a ‘Spend over €12 on any Rimmel products get a free mascara’ I was like yes yes and yes!

I tend to like Rimmel mascaras in general (or so my stash would suggest) and this one is no different.

It’s quite a small skinny wand which is great for giving lenght, really getting in there grabbing each lash individually but it hasn’t been doing much for me in the volume department, I would kinda prefer a mascara that can give lift, volume, separation AND length!

No that’s not asking for too much. My holy grail drugstore mascara does all those things and it’s the L’oreal Volume Million Lashes. It comes in at €16.79 which is a little expensive for a mascara I agree but it bloody brilliant, honest, just wait for the special offers Boots will invariably have and stock up. The Rimmel Lash Accelerator Mascara is nice, it’s just not my favourite but for a freebie, It’s pretty darn good.

Rimmel Glam’eyes Liquid Eyeliner in Black Glamour €7.19

This eyeliner is another firm favourite and is actually a repurchase. It dries matte, it’s pigmented, easy to use and doesn’t flake or crumble off the way some cheaper liquid eyeliners can tend to (I’m looking at you essence).

The brush applicator makes for a very precise and defined look and if you’ve a steady hand you’ll have no problems here. I’ve been meaning to pick up a gel liner and give that a go just for a wee bit of variety so I’ll keep you posted but as it stands liquid liner is way to go, for me at least.
I know that some people feel that black is too harsh for a daytime look and if that person is you why not try lining your waterline with a brown or navy pencil and gently smudge it along your lash line creating a soft smokier look.

 

2 thoughts on “Quick and easy summer beauty fixes

Leave a Reply

